top of page
Search
  • Chris Burman-Day MSc

It's not all about the "mirror muscles". Training for the strongest half marathon.

Last week I wrote about how I've adapted my training from the "off season" General Physical Preparedness intuitive structure to a newer (for me) specific goal centred structure - (Specific Physical Preparedness) that is far more strength based.



This short video montage gives an insight into one-day's training, when I'm able to combine different training sessions and session goals. Most days follow the structure I outlined in my previous article, but perhaps once every ten days or so I get the opportunity to have a multi-session day, which will combine training elements.


In this video, my first session was as follows;

  • 10 sets of deadlift - ascending pyramid, starting with a medium weight, working to near failure. Increasing the weight for each set. With the aim of completing 150 reps in total or thereabouts.

  • 10 sets of hack-squat / super-set with calf / heel raises - ascending pyramid as above.

The purpose and aim of this workout is to work on my strength and muscular endurance in the legs, targeting the front and back of the upper leg (quads and hamstrings), the calves and glutes (backside) with compound movements - big muscle groups that will be doing a lot of the driving while pulling the boat.


The second session in the video was pulling repeats using a 4x4 truck;

  • 45 minutes of shuttle reps, roughly 150-200 foot

The aim of this second session was in some respect to replicate the boat-pull from a physiological point of view; to practise and develop technique to start the truck / boat moving from a standing start; to condition my body to wearing the harness under strain; to build cardio-respiratory endurance and to work the finer deep muscles that are engaged in a strenuous effort supporting the superficial (bigger) muscles.


The last session shows an out and back / point to point style ruck-run or TAB (speed march) carrying a large heavy backpack, in this case an army "bergen";

  • 1 hour session. Short steep hills. Heavy approx. 40lbs pack.

Similarly to the truck pull session above, this session was included to again provide load on my upper body and shoulders (from the backpack), build further on my cardio-respiratory endurance (carrying load up hills makes your lungs burn!) and again work both the larger superficial muscles of the glutes, quads, hamstrings and calves while also targeting the deeper stabilizing / supporting muscles, over a longer period of time.


After a day such as this I'll typically take a rest day which will include some measure of self-care, such as stretching and use of the massage-gun, before building back into the regular routine. Self-care, and PROTEIN!


If you’d like to follow my training progress and journey, find me on Strava and give me a follow. 


www.sundried.com use code BURMANDAY for 50% off

gf.me/u/yhi9bn click the link to donate to the challenge


101 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page